Total Pageviews

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

REVIEW: Midnight Bites by Rachel Caine

*Thanks to Netgalley for an ARC in exchange for a review*

Expected publication: March 1, 2016

I've always loved the series tagline:  WELCOME TO MORGANVILLE, YOU'LL NEVER WANT TO LEAVE.

If you're a fan of the series then you know that want to leave and allowed to leave Morganville are two entirely different things.  Midnight Bites is a new anthology collection including six new stories. 

Readers are in store for an exciting collection of tales highlighting that Morganville is not an average college town.  These stories give us a comprehensive look at the series, supporting the novels and also providing glimpses into the past and future of these beloved characters. What I enjoyed most were that many of these were from the POV of those who didn't always get a primary voice during the main series run.  Standout stories for me were:

Myrnin's Tale - Myrnin's origin story plus some other background into harsh experiences which shaped his troubled mental state as well as his first encounters with Lady Grey aka Jesse.

Sam's Story - Sam's story as human who falls for Amelie and how a choice to protect her drastically changed his future and that of the Glass family.

Grudge - The death of Alyssa, Shane's younger sister, is such a driving force for his anger and the series.  This story is how this all plays out in the past.

The First Day of the Rest of Your Life - Eve Rosser turns eighteen and is targets following her refusal to sign a Protector contract.  I liked this story since its gives readers a look at how she ended up rooming with Michael at Glass House and previews Michael's predicament evident in the first part of the series.

All Hallows - A great Halloween story featuring Claire, Shane, Michael and Eve. 

Anger Management - I loved this one for its insight into Shane and his character.  

And One For the Devil - This is primarily a Myrnin and Claire story with guest spots from Eve and Shane.  I enjoyed this on for its twist on plausible futures and because it was super creepy.  Another highlight is that it takes place after Daylighters so we get to see Claire and Shane married for a year and pretty happy.

Overall, this is a solid collection with appeal to series fans. Some stories were certainly stronger than others; however, it is nice to have these all in one place and with a few new entries.

Final rating: 4 out of 5 stars

#MidnightBites #Morganville #RachelCaine #anthology #vampires #YAlit